Many states require inspections for every vehicle, but the state of Georgia only requires them for specific vehicle types. These inspections have been put in place so that the state can ensure that vehicles that are being operated on the roads of Georgia are safe and obtained legally. This also helps to ensure the quality of air that is in metropolitan areas. Before a vehicle can be issued a title and registration, they must first be inspected.
Atlanta residents who live in the following counties and own gasoline powered cars and light duty trucks on models more than 2 years and less than 25 years old are required to have an emissions inspection annually:
There are also tests involved for testing ozone forming pollutants and particle pollutants that can be released from the vehicle. These tests are part of the state’s efforts to comply with clean air standards that have been set up by the federal government.
If there are any issues that lead to emissions above the levels that have been set by the government, that vehicle is required to be repaired before proof on inspection can be established.
There are some exemptions for seniors, however. For example, if you are over the age of 65, have owned your vehicle for more than 10 years and drive fewer than 5000 miles annually, you will not be required to have an emissions inspections. There are also exemptions that have been put in place for vehicles that use alternative fuels, kit cars and hot rods.
Older – Untitled Vehicles
If the vehicle is over the age of 25 years, and does not require a title, a special inspection form is required when you are registering the vehicle. The inspection for these vehicles is performed by a law enforcement officer or by an employee of the tag office of the country in which you reside.
During this inspection, the vehicle identification number will be confirmed and the Georgia Crime Information Center will look to make sure that the vehicle has not been stolen. This will be required when you are looking to register your vehicle.
These vehicles must be towed to a state approved inspection station in order to be inspected. The owner will be required to provide photos of the original, wrecked condition before the pairs were made as well as a completed tag and title application, T022 Request for Inspection of Rebuilt Motor Vehicle Form, Labor and Parts Certification, Form T-129 and a check for the fee.
If you purchase a vehicle in a county that does not require testing, but live in a country that does, you will have 30 days to have the vehicle tested. If you are a private seller and you live in a country that requires testing, you must ensure that your vehicle passes the emissions test before you are able to sell your car. When you move to a country that requires testing from somewhere that does not, you will have 30 days to have the testing completed.