New York Emissions Laws
New York Emissions Laws
In order to obtain an original registration or an annual renewal in the state of New York, an emissions test is required. A New York inspection sticker will be placed in your car and will indicate the expiration date or the date that you must have the test completed by.
Your vehicle will be required to have this test of it is older than 1995 or if it runs on gasoline. It will also need to have an OBDII test completed if it is newer the 1996, is more than two years old and displays a weight less than 8500 pounds on the registration.
A New York emissions test is valid for 12 months and must be completed in order to receive a registration renewal or original vehicle registration. If you purchase a used vehicle from a private owner you will be required to obtain an emissions test, but if you purchase it from a dealer they will need to provide it for you.
There are exemptions when it comes to testing your vehicle and they are as follows:
- If it is older than 25 years old
- If it is younger than two years old
- Is electric powered vehicles
- If it is a motorcycle or if it is registered as a farm equipment
- Diesel vehicles less than 8500 pounds
- Diesel vehicles more than 8500 pounds but that are registered in the NYCMA area
- If it has a historical plate
- If it is a homemade or custom vehicle and has been redshirted upstate area
New York Emissions Testing Locations
You can have your vehicle tested at any registered inspection station at the DMV; you will just need to look for the official sign so that you know if you have found an authorized testing station. The maximum fee that you can pay is $27 and this is for an enhanced emissions inspection. If you live in a county other than the New York City metropolitan area, your fee will be $11.
If your vehicle fails the New York emissions testing process you will be required to have it repaired, and it will then need to be retested. If it is unable to be repaired after going through the repair process it is possible to receive a waiver through the DMV before you register. This can be applied for when you provide receipts showing that you spent more than $450 on repairs through a licensed repair shop. It is also possible to apply for this if your vehicle failed the emission test, but passed the safety inspection, the gas cap test passed as well as the visual inspection of the emission control devices.
If you move into the New York State area, you will need to register your vehicle in the state but your inspection will not become invalid until it expires. Also, if you are out-of-state when you are ready to have your vehicle inspected you will need to contact the proper authorities in order to determine if you’re inspection extension is valid and then apply for one.
You can learn more about the rules and regulations to the division of vehicle safety services as well as apply for an inspection extension here. Is important to keep your vehicle maintained so that it does not emit deadly pollutants into the air and that it is safe to use on the road.