Ohio State Inspections
If you are planning to put a vehicle on the road in Ohio, it is first important that you understand the rules that that have been put in place in regards to having it inspected. There are a number of reasons that Ohio inspects the vehicles in order to protect the environment. New residence that are moving to Ohio or those who are registering their vehicle for the first time should be well aware of the inspection laws that have been put in place by the state.
The laws that are in place specifically apply to salvage and self-assembled automobile inspections. The inspection process does not attempt to decide if the vehicle is ready for the road or safe but rather focuses on whether you own all the parts of the vehicle legitimately.
This inspection looks to verify that you have all the necessary documents required for ownership of the major components of vehicle. This can be components such as bumpers, doors, airbags, engines, transmissions, frames and tailgates. Anything that is valued over $100 will also be required to provide proof of ownership for. If you purchase items for a private party you will need to have a notarized receipt.
E check was first introduced in 1996, and this ensures that vehicles that are excessively polluting are kept off the road. Currently, this is only being performed in the eight northern counties and vehicles that run on gas or diesel and are under 10,000 pounds, including hybrids, and newer than 25-year-old cars, must be tested.
Nonexempt vehicles should be inspected once a year with even-numbered manufacturer years being inspected on even years and vice versus for odd-numbered model vehicles. So, for example, if you own a 1998 model car you must have it tested on an even-numbered year such as 2014. There are numerous stations located throughout the state.
After the vehicle has been tested you will be presented with a certificate so that you will be able to title the vehicle. If you lose a certificate you can call a toll-free number in order to have you’re information that is required to receive a title.
Exemptions and Waivers
If you have a new vehicle that is less than four years old, you will not have to have it tested. Antique and collector vehicles are also permanently exempt from each test as well as other types of vehicles that are over five times, motorhomes, RVs and motorcycles.
If you have made repairs over $200, you can also apply for a waiver and make your vehicle exempt from the inspection process. This is possible if you are also able to reduce emissions of your car 30% or if you have spent over $300 in repairs.
There are many rules and regulations that have been set in place by the state of Ohio that you need to abide by if you move into the state and plan to operate a vehicle there. It is important for residents to understand these rules in order to have vehicles that are safe to drive on the roads of Ohio and that are legally allowed to do so.