Utah Smog Check / Emissions Test
The State of Utah requires certain vehicles to pass a safety inspection and vehicle emissions test in order to obtain a Utah vehicle registration or registration renewal. Where the owner has the vehicle registered and the vehicle’s model year determines the time, the cost, and what kinds of tests the testing process will require. New resident must get a Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) inspection along with having to comply with the same testing requirements as other Utah residents.The Utah Department of Public Safety (DPS) and the Utah Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) collaborate in administering Utah’s vehicle testing programs. Safety inspections for passenger vehicles are no longer required starting with 2018 registrations and registration renewals.
If you know you need an Emissions test done click here to select your county and find the nearest location.
Requirements to Pass the Utah Smog Check
Vehicle owners who live in Salt Lake, Davis, Utah, Weber, or Cache counties must get their vehicle tested in accordance with the following criteria:
- Vehicle less than six years old must pass an emissions test every two years (Vehicles made in even model years must get tested in even calendar numbers, and vehicles made in odd model years must get tested in odd calendar years)
- Vehicles 6 years old or more (until the 1967 model year) must get tested annually before registration
Cache county vehicle owners with vehicles that are 6 years old or more must schedule their smog check according to the vehicle’s model year. Vehicles made in even-numbered model years must get smog checked in even-number calendar years and vehicles made in odd-numbered years must get smog checked in odd-numbered calendar years.
If a vehicle falls under one of the categories, it must also pass a Utah safety inspection as well:
- Commercial vehicles (Safety inspection not required for registration but drivers must have inspection documentation to be able to present to law enforcement)
- Salvaged vehicles getting titled as a rebuilt vehicle
- First-time registration of Street-legal ATVs (Must also get a safety inspection whenever vehicle has a title transferred)
The Utah state legislature just passed a new law eliminating vehicle safety inspections for all passenger vehicles starting with vehicles registered in 2018. However, passenger vehicles with registrations that expired in 2017 must still pass a safety inspection.
Check out our DMV & Emissions Testing Locations in Utah pages below to find a Utah DPS certified safety inspection location in your area.
Smog Check Exemptions for Utah Drivers
If a vehicle falls under one of the following categories, it is not required to pass a smog check.
- Newly manufactured vehicles with a Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin (MSOs)
- Vehicles made in the last 2 model years
- Vehicles made in the 1968 model year and registered in Cache County
- Vehicles made in the 1967 model year or older, and registered in Davis, Salt Lake, Utah, or Weber counties
- Diesel vehicles
Utah-registered vehicles out of state when their registration renewal deadline occurs, may be eligible for a temporary out-of-state exemption or be granted permission to pass an inspection in a reciprocal municipality.Then, mail the proof of inspection to the Utah DMV. To follow through with completing out-of-state vehicle testing and inspections:
Owners with vehicles out of state and not in a municipality that require vehicle inspections or testing during their registration renewal deadline must get their vehicles to pass a safety inspection and emissions test (if required) once they return to Utah.
For more details about the out-of-state inspection, exemptions call the Utah DMV at (801) 297-7780 or toll-free at (800) 368-8824.
Smog Check Fees
The price of Utah smog check fees depend on the county a vehicle owner gets a smog check done in:
- Cache County – $20
- Weber County – $30
- Davis, Salt Lake, and Utah counties: Market-driven; call to shop around; the average price though is around $25
Also, the following counties charge an emissions inspection fee at the time of getting the vehicle registered:
- Cache $3
- Davis $3
- Salt Lake $3
- Utah $2
- Weber $1
Safety Inspections: Utah regulates the price for safety inspections. The maximum fee that can be charged for a safety inspection is $20.
Performing Emissions Testing in Utah
Residents have 60 days from the due date on a vehicle’s registration sticker to pass a vehicle safety inspection, pass a vehicle emissions test (if required), and get the vehicle’s registration renewed. Vehicle owners in Utah must drive their vehicle to a Utah DPS-certified inspection station and pay the testing fee and provide any other required documents (Call ahead to find out which documents must be presented).
Utah Safety Inspections: Vehicle owners can take their vehicle to most repair shops to get a safety inspection. To get an inspection done in Utah, owners must drive their vehicle to a safety inspection location and bring the vehicle’s current vehicle registration and the inspection fee. After a vehicle passes a safety inspection, the owner gets a Utah safety inspection certificate to submit when obtaining a Utah vehicle registration or registration renewal.
Failed Smog Inspections – Next Steps
Vehicle’s that do not pass a smog inspection, must be repaired and be retested. If a vehicle keeps failing its smog reinspections, the vehicle owner may be eligible for an inspection waiver. Call your Utah county emissions office to learn about eligibility requirements for waivers:
- Cache County: (435) 792-6570
- Davis County: (801) 525-5100
- Salt Lake County: (385) 468-3837
- Utah County: (801) 851-7600
- Weber County: ( 801) 399-7140
Moved to Utah – Smog Check Requirements
New Utah residents must register their vehicles within 60 days of moving to the state. Non-exempt vehicles must pass a safety and/or smog check before it can receive a Utah vehicle registration. Vehicles getting registered for the first time in Utah by new residents must also pass a VIN inspection unless the new resident purchased the vehicle from a Utah automotive dealer or automaker. Fill out and present a Certificate of Inspection (form TC-661) to any of the following authorized agents for a Utah VIN inspection:
- Utah-certified safety inspector
- Utah DMV employee (out-of-state authorized agents are acceptable)
- Approved contractor
- Utah police officer (out-of-state police officers are acceptable)
- Licensed vehicle dealer
New residents must also present any applicable safety and/or emissions certificates to their local DMV office obtaining a new vehicle title and registration.
Transferring a Vehicle Title in Utah – Smog Check Needed?
When transferring a title, the new owner must get the vehicle to pass a smog check (if required) within 10 days of transferring the title if the previous owner does not have a current safety inspection and/or smog check certificate for the vehicle. The vehicle cannot be registered in the new owner’s name unless the new owner has proof the vehicle has passed a safety inspection and/or smog check (if required).
Do Sellers Give Buyers a Valid Smog Certificate?
Dealers must make sure all vehicles they sell pass a smog check and must present a valid smog certificate to the buyer at the time of sale. New vehicles with an MSO and vehicles sold to buyers outside of Utah “emissions” counties do not require a smog certificate at the time of sale.
Private sellers must also provide the buyer with valid smog certificate proving the vehicle has passed a Utah smog check.
Special Tips to Pass the Utah Emissions Test
Utah vehicle owners may want to get their vehicles to pass a vehicle emissions test as soon as they receive their first testing notice. Allow extra time to get any needed repairs done before the vehicle’s registration expires. Also, if a vehicle owner plans to be out of town during the date when their registration expires, planning early will give owners time to meet the deadline. Here are some tips to keep in mind to ensure passing a Utah vehicle emissions test:
- Make sure the vehicle does not have its “Check Engine” light on; If it does, it will not pass the test. To fix, check to make sure the gas cap is on tight and is not broken. Keep the sealing surfaces in the cap clean so it can make a good seal. If it is not, tighten it and drive around to see if the light goes off.
- Follow the vehicle’s recommended maintenance schedule. Many of the mechanical issues that cause vehicles to fail their tests can be addressed during a routine check-up
- If your vehicle is a make and model year when catalytic converters came standard on the vehicle, make sure your has one and is not malfunctioning; If it does not have one or it is not working, the vehicle will not pass the test
- Allow your vehicle to run for at least 10 minutes before it takes a test to ensure an accurate reading
- Research your vehicle manufacturer’s recalls Technical Service Bulletins (TSBs), and warranties before getting any repairs done. The cost of the repair may be covered by the manufacturer.
- If your vehicle’s On-Board Diagnostic (OBDII) system is showing trouble codes, make sure to get them fixed by a certified emissions mechanic. Do not just try to clear the codes.Test personnel will know and the vehicle will not pass inspection.
- If your vehicle is misfiring when it is idling, make sure to get this addressed before getting an emissions test
- If a vehicle’s battery is brand new, drive the vehicle for a couple of days before taking it to get an On-Board Diagnostics test so as to allow the OBD system to reset
- Make sure the vehicle’s oil is not dirty. Get the oil changed on a routine basis
- Maintain the recommended air pressure in your vehicle’s tires
- Inspect your vehicle’s hoses and belts for wear. Get them replaced if necessary
- Get any mechanical issues with your vehicle’s transmission addressed and fixed. Transmission problems can affect your vehicle’s emissions and cause your vehicle to fail an emissions test
- If your motor vehicle’s emissions system has a mechanical issue, check your manufacturer’s warranty. Federal law states emissions systems on vehicles made in the 1995 and newer model years must have their emissions systems warrantied for two years or 24,000 miles
- If the OBDII diagnostic system or catalytic converter on your vehicle made in the 1995 model year or newer has a mechanical issue, check the manufacturer’s warranty also. Federal regulation states these vehicles must have a warranty on their OBDII and catalytic converters for eight years or 80,000 miles.
Find Smog Check Stations Near Me
To stay in compliance with the State of Utah’s smog check requirements, Utah-registered drivers must get their vehicles to pass a vehicle emissions test if they live in certain regions of the state. Check out our DMV & Emissions Testing Locations in Utah pages below to find a DMV office or testing location in your area.
Smog Check Stations in Salt Lake City, Utah
Salt Lake City, in Salt Lake County, Utah, has a population of 194,000. Utah-registered drivers with vehicles that require testing and living in Salt Lake City must get their vehicles to pass a smog check. Check out our DMV & Emissions Testing Locations in Salt Lake City, Utah page to find a DMV office or testing location in your area.
Smog Check Stations in West Valley City, Utah
West Valley City, in Salt Lake County, Utah, has a population of 137,000. Utah-registered drivers with vehicles that require testing and living in West Valley City must get their vehicles to pass a smog check. Check out our DMV & Emissions Testing Location in West Valley City, Utah page to find a DMV office or testing location in your area.
Smog Check Stations in Provo, Utah
The City of Provo, in Utah County, Utah, has a population of 117,000. Utah-registered drivers with vehicles that require testing and living in Provo must get their vehicles to pass a smog check. Check out our DMV & Emissions Testing Locations in Provo, Utah page to find a DMV office or testing location in your area.
Getting car insurance is one of the requirements that vehicle owners need to fulfill in order to register and claim the title for their vehicles in the Department of Motor Vehicles. Vehicle insurance companies in the United States offer full auto insurance and liability coverage that protects the drivers in case of a traffic accident.