DMV & Emissions Testing Locations In Louisiana
Louisiana Smog Check / Emissions Test
The state of Louisiana requires vehicles registered in certain parishes and cities to pass a vehicle emissions test and safety inspection every two years. The Louisiana State Police enforces the state’s testing requirements.
If you know you need an Emissions test done click here to select your county and find the nearest location.
Requirements to Pass the Louisiana Smog Check
Louisiana vehicles owners with vehicles that fall into one of the following categories will need to pass a smog check:
- New residents
- A vehicle’s current break tag or emission sticker is about to expire.
- if you have purchased a used vehicle and are looking to register it with the Office of Motor Vehicles
- If a Louisiana law enforcement officer orders your vehicle inspected. Typically, vehicle owners have 5 business days to comply with getting their vehicle inspected
Smog Check Exemptions for Louisiana Drivers
If a vehicle falls into one of the following categories it is exempt from passing a smog check:
- Farm tractors and farm equipment
- Vehicles which are 40 years old or older
- Exhibition/parade vehicles not used for transportation on a daily basis
- Vehicles which regularly carry more than 15 passengers and required to have a commercial MVI sticker
- Vehicles weighing more than 20,000 pounds and requiring a commercial MVI sticker
Smog Check Fees
The smog check fee in Louisiana is $18 which is valid for one year.
Performing Emissions Testing in Louisiana
When appearing to get a vehicle emissions test, vehicle owners must present their current vehicle registration, driver’s license, and proof of auto insurance.
Louisiana requires certain residents to get an “enhanced” vehicle safety inspection which includes a smog check. A vehicle may require an “enhanced” vehicle inspection if the owner’s residence is in one of the following parishes:
- East Baton Rouge
- West Baton Rouge
The state requires all cars, trucks, and motorhomes to pass a vehicle emissions test when it meets the following criteria:
- It runs on gasoline
- It’s a 1996 model year or newer
- It has a gross vehicle weight rating of 10,000 pounds or less
Vehicles requiring an “enhanced” vehicle inspections will receive a:
- Gas Cap Pressure Test
- Onboard computer system (OBDII) test
- Visual inspection of the catalytic converter, air injection system, positive crankcase ventilation system, evaporative emissions control system, and exhaust gas recirculation system
After completing a vehicle emissions test, the vehicle owner will receive a Vehicle Inspection Report (VIR) and a vehicle inspection sticker. The sticker is valid for one year.
Failed Smog Inspections – Next Steps
Vehicle’s that do not pass a smog inspection will get an orange temporary sticker placed on its windshield. This sticker allows the owner for 30 days to complete emissions-related repairs on the vehicle while staying street legal.
All repairs listed on the Vehicle Inspection Report (VIR) must be completed, and the vehicle must pass a vehicle emissions retest within 30 days of the initial test. Vehicle owners who get their retest done within the 30-day time limit and who get their vehicle retested at the same location will get their retest for free. Owners with vehicles that fail the test may challenge the results. In order to do so, take the vehicle to:
Motor Vehicles Emissions Inspection Challenge Station
3233 Rosedale Road
Port Allen, LA 70767
Open 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday – Saturday
Call (225) 342-8425 – for more information
Moved to Louisiana – Smog Check Requirements
New residents must get their vehicle’s registered with the Louisiana DMV within 30 days. New resident vehicles must pass a vehicle safety inspection and smog check.
Special Tips to Pass the Louisiana Emissions Test
Louisiana vehicle owners may want to get their vehicles tested as soon as they receive their first testing notice. Allow extra time to get any needed repairs done before your registration expires. Also, if a vehicle owner plans to be out of town during the date when their registration expires, planning early will give owners time to meet the deadline. Here are some tips to keep in mind to ensure passing a Louisiana vehicle emissions test:
- Make sure the vehicle does not have its “Check Engine” light on; If it does, it will not pass the test. To fix, check to make sure the gas cap is on tight and is not broken. Keep the sealing surfaces in the cap clean so it can make a good seal. If it is not, tighten it and drive around to see if the light goes off
- Follow the vehicle’s recommended maintenance schedule. Many of the mechanical issues that cause vehicles to fail their tests can be addressed during a routine check-up
- If your vehicle is a make and model year when catalytic converters came standard on the vehicle, make sure your vehicle has one and is not malfunctioning; If it does not have one or it is not working, it will not pass the test
- Allow your vehicle to run for at least 10 minutes before it takes a test to ensure an accurate reading
- Research your vehicle manufacturer’s recalls Technical Service Bulletins (TSBs), and warranties before getting any repairs done. The cost of their repair may be covered by the manufacturer.
- If your vehicle’s On-Board Diagnostic (OBDII) system is showing trouble codes, make sure to get them fixed by a certified emissions mechanic. Do not just try to clear the codes.Test personnel will know and the vehicle will not pass inspection.
- If your vehicle is misfiring when it is idling, make sure to get this addressed before taking the test
- If a vehicle’s battery is brand new, drive the vehicle for a couple of days before taking it to get an On-Board Diagnostics test so as to allow the OBD system to reset
- Make sure the vehicle’s oil is not dirty. Get the oil changed on a routine basis
- Maintain the recommended air pressure in your vehicle’s tires
- Inspect your vehicle’s hoses and belts for wear. Get them replaced if necessary
- Get any mechanical issues with your vehicle’s transmission address and fixed. Transmissions problems can affect your vehicle’s emissions and cause your vehicle to fail its test
- If your motor vehicle’s emissions system has a mechanical issue, check your manufacturer’s warranty. Federal law states emissions systems on vehicles made in the 1995 and newer model years must have their emissions systems warrantied for two years or 24,000 miles
- If the OBDII diagnostic system or catalytic converter on your vehicle made in the 1995 model year or newer has a mechanical issue, check your vehicle’s manufacturer’s warranty also. Federal regulation states these vehicles must have a warranty on their OBDII and catalytic converters for eight years or 80,000 miles
Find Smog Check Stations Near Me
To stay in compliance of the State of Louisiana’s smog check requirements, Louisiana-registered drivers required to get their vehicles to pass a vehicle emissions test can check out our DMV & Emissions Testing Locations in Louisiana pages below to find a DMV office or testing location in your area.
Smog Check Stations in Baton Rouge, Louisiana
The city of Baton Rouge, part of East Baton Rouge Parish, Louisiana, has a population of 227,000 and is the second largest metropolitan area in the state. Louisiana-registered drivers with vehicles that require testing and living in East Baton Rouge area may have to get their vehicles to pass an emissions inspection. Check out our DMV & Emissions Testing Locations in East Baton Rouge Parish, Louisiana page to find a DMV office or testing location in your area.
Smog Check Stations in Livingston, Louisiana
The city of Livingston, in Livingston Parish, Louisiana, has a population of 128,000 and is part of the Baton Rouge metropolitan area. Louisiana-registered drivers with vehicles that require testing, and living in or around Baton Rouge must get their vehicles to pass an emissions inspection. Check out our DMV & Emissions Testing Locations in Livingston Parish, Louisiana page to find a DMV office or testing location in your area.
Smog Check Stations in Plaquemine, Louisiana
The City of Plaquemine, in Iberville County, Louisiana, has a population of 23,000 and is part of the New Orleans metro area. Louisiana-registered drivers with vehicles that require testing, and living in or around Plaquemine may have to get their vehicle’s to pass an emissions inspection. Check out our DMV & Emissions Testing Locations in Plaquemine, Louisiana page to find a DMV office or testing location in your area.
Getting car insurance is one of the requirements that vehicle owners need to fulfill in order to register and claim the title for their vehicles in the Department of Motor Vehicles. Vehicle insurance companies in the United States offer full auto insurance and liability coverage that protects the drivers in case of a traffic accident.
- Allen County, LA
- Ascension County, LA
- Assumption County, LA
- Avoyelles County, LA
- Beauregard County, LA
- Caddo County, LA
- Calcasieu County, LA
- East Baton Rouge County, LA
- East Carroll County, LA
- Evangeline County, LA
- Grant County, LA
- Iberia County, LA
- Iberville County, LA
- Jefferson County, LA
- Jefferson Davis County, LA
- Livingston County, LA
- Orleans County, LA
- Ouachita County, LA
- Pointe Coupee County, LA
- St. Bernard County, LA
- St. Charles County, LA
- St. Helena County, LA
- St. James County, LA
- St. John the Baptist County, LA
- St. Martin County, LA
- St. Tammany County, LA
- Tangipahoa County, LA
- Terrebonne County, LA
- Union County, LA
- Vermilion County, LA
- Washington County, LA
- Webster County, LA
- West Feliciana County, LA