Last updated on April 26th, 2018
The state of Louisiana requires that vehicles which are registered in the state to complete a motor vehicle inspection. This is enforced by the Louisiana State Police and you must have an inspection every other year.
There are many reasons that your vehicle will need to have an inspection and if you fall into the following categories, you should see what you need to do about obtaining an inspection going vehicle:
- if you are new to the state and are looking to register your vehicle with the Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles
- If your current break tag or emission sticker is near expiration. These inspections are required to be completed no later than one calendar month following the expiration date of your sticker If you do not have a valid inspection sticker you could be cited for a secondary offense
- if you have purchased a used vehicle and are looking to register it with the Office of Motor Vehicles
- If you have been ordered by a law enforcement officer to have your vehicle submitted for inspection. In this case, you must complete the inspection within five days after being ordered to by the officer.
There are two parts of the motor vehicle inspection:
- a safety inspection is required for all vehicles
- emissions inspections are required in certain areas
Vehicles are required to have a safety inspection at least every other year, but no more than twice a year. The sticker that you receive will have an expiration date that shows when the next inspection will be required.
LA Vehicle Safety Inspection
The reason a safety inspection is required in the state of Louisiana is to make sure that your vehicle is not a safety hazard either for yourself or for other drivers who are on the road with you. Below are some of the common areas that are inspected during these inspections:
- Brakes and Brake Lights
- Wheels and Tires
- Windshields and Windows
- Headlights and Turn Signals
- Exhaust System
- Steering Mechanisms
Technicians will inspect a number of other items as well and you should take a look at the inspection checklist before you arrive for your inspection. The cost of an inspection in the state of Louisiana is $10.
Smog and Emissions Testing in Louisiana
Some residents are required to have a smog emissions test along with their safety inspection. Depending on the location where you live, your vehicle may require an emissions inspection or an enhanced inspection if the vehicle is gas powered, weighs less than 10,000 pounds, and is registered in one of the following areas:
- East Baton Rouge
- West Baton Rouge
During this test, your vehicle will be tested for a number of items, such as gas cap pressure, onboard computer system check, and a visual inspection of items, like the catalytic converter and air injection system.
There is a fee of $18 in relation to the safety and emissions test, which is valid for one year. You may also be able to learn more about the emission test when you are reviewing your inspection checklist before you have your inspection completed.
In Louisiana, most vehicles are required to pass emissions testing before they can register their vehicle. Let’s take a look at which vehicles require emissions testing.
A car, truck, or motorhome is required to go through emissions testing when the following criteria are met:
- It runs on gasoline
- It’s a 1996 model year or newer
- It has a gross vehicle weight rating of 10,000 pounds or less
If Louisiana residents are out of the state, they can apply for an extension if they are currently in school, the military, for a job, or any other reason as long as it’s valid. You can send a written request for an extension by email with the following:
- Reason for your extension
- Details of the vehicle’s registration
- Vehicle Identification Number
- Inspection certificate number
- Return address of the petitioner
Some vehicles are exempt from emissions testing, here are the current vehicles that don’t require testing:
- Farm tractors and associated equipment
- Vehicles which are 40 years old or older like exhibition/parade vehicles not used for transportation on a daily basis
- Vehicles which regularly carry more than 15 passengers and therefore need a commercial MVI sticker
- Vehicles with a Gross Vehicle Weight Rating of 20,000 pounds or more which need a commercial MVI sticker